top of page

I AM A SLOW WALKER, BUT I NEVER WALK BACK...

To say we jumped into this blind and not knowing what to expect would be an understatement of the century...

The decision to climb one of the highest free standing mountains in the world was made back in January, serious planning and training didn't really kick in for me until we were into double digits on the count down,despite the numerous warnings and lectures form my climbing partner, and Dad, Ian. I'd argue i can do Pen-Y-Fan, in the brecon beacons easy, turns out the difference is 5009m exactly!

Training may have taken its time to kick in for me, Dad on the other hand, with his focused military background has found the time to run circles around me, at the same time as working round the clock on the other side of the world to me. Training has included tackling some of the local welsh mountains, including Pen-y-fan and Horse-shoe-pass as well as filling up rucksacks with 6 to 10 kilograms of weights and walking on high inclines, and stepping machines at my local gym, pretty sure that will catch on as new fashion trend among serious gym fanatics soon enough!

Our final push on training is going to be our 3 peaks event the weekend before we leave for Kilimanjaro. Starting with Ben Nevis, the highest mountain in the British Isles, located in Scotland. Standing at 1,346 metres above sea level, closely followed by Scafell Pike, the highest mountain in England, at an elevation of 978 metres above sea level, located in the Lake District National Park, in Cumbria. Finally finishing with Snowdon, the highest mountain in Wales, at an elevation of 1,085 metres above sea level, and the highest point in the British Isles


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page